• Mena Camping and Caravan Park Reviews

  • Mena Caravan and Camping Park is an AA four star graded site. It has been independently selected by Alan Rogers for inclusion in their excellence guides and is also a Camping and Caravaning Club affiliated site. Below are a few of the comments we have had from our guests.

  • In our years of camping, this camp site is the best we've stayed at

    Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating: 

    Just arrived home after a stay of 1 week at Mena, and I can honestly say that in our years of camping, this camp site is the best we've stayed at. The site provided pitches with electric hook up but I believe there were some available without if required. The owners and their staff, were friendly and always on hand to help with any questions we had. The public facilities, toilets and showers, were kept spotlessly clean. The little shop on site was sufficient if we ran out of essentials. The food from the small, on site cafe, was very tasty and I can recommend the evening curry and the breakfast. 

    Although we didn't have any small children with us, the site had a small playground with a 'fort' that always seemed very popular. For rainy days and evenings, the site also had an indoor area providing a Pool table, table tennis and various other table games, in here was also a telly and a selection of books and games. 

    We enjoyed being in this part of Bodmin and found that we could easily visit both North and South Cornwall easily.
  • Don't feel like cooking Ian or Sue cook a mean breakfast

    Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating: 

    Spent a few days camping at Mena. Beautiful site, well kept, very clean and everyone friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. My sixth visit and can't wait to return. If you don't feel like cooking Ian or Sue cook a mean breakfast and there is a fantastic range of evening meals all very reasonably priced. Left feeling relaxed and planning the next visit. All the facilities you need for washing clothes, freezer, mobile phone charging etc are there, and a big barn with tv, books to read, games for all, handy if it should rain. Thank you Ian, Sue, Irene and Pat, you do a fantastic job.
  • We are already planning on returning next year...

    Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating: 

    This was our second visit to Mena and we are already planning on returning next year. The site is fantastic, really well laid out and cared for by the family and wardens. We were welcomed like long lost friends and made to feel at home instantly. Again, we were able to pitch our tent on '45', the best pitch on the site and ended up staying a night longer than we had planned as we were having such a fun time. We don't hesitate in recommending this lovely site to all, you'll not be disappointed!
  • Very pleasurable and if you have dogs this is an ideal site

    Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating: 

    This is the third visit this year, an excellent find plenty of space on a large site that caters for all types of campers. Facilities are excellent Toilets, showers are very good and facility for washing up, washing and ironing - if that's what you do on holiday. 

    Ian and Sue make your stay very pleasurable and if you have dogs then this is an ideal site for them. 

    Will definitely come again.
  • The site is local to plenty of day out sites to visit

    Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating: 

    We have just had 3 nights at Mena caravan / camping park and I can say what great hosts Ian and Sue were, lots to talk about as both Ian and the Warden came from Kent where we came from, the site was well cared for. Grass mowed, shower / toilets very clean, food cooked when requested with no bother. The site is local to plenty of day out sites to visit. Will be booking again.
  • Stunning area, fantastic location for the eden project

    Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating: 

    We have been to this campsite twice and hoping to go again next month. It is an well maintained clean site with great shower block. Our daughter loved the beautiful ponds in which we went fishing for goldfish. You can hire rods at the shop. Friendly run campsite. Quiet and peaceful. We liked this site due to the friendly staff and also as it is a quiet, spacious site, and not heaving with people. Great gem of a campsite if you have little toddlers. Very safe. Stunning area, fantastic location for the eden project. Highly recommended.
  • Large pitches plenty space to exercise the dogs

    Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:

    Spent a few days here and it was absolutely brilliant, Ian and Sue made us so welcome, felt like we'd known them for years. Ian was born in the north of Scotland so we had something in common, lovely lovely man.

    Site was everything we wanted spotlessly clean, large pitches plenty space to exercise the dogs, spectacular views but most of all in all our years of touring, the best hosts we have ever had the privilege of meeting.

    Hope you have a wonderful summer season, can't wait to meet up again, roll on next year. Paul and Kath

     

  • I've been camping for over 40 years and its the best place I have ever stayed.

    Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:

    My first ever review, so here goes! This is our third visit this year. Ian and Sue are the best hosts ever. Nothing is too much trouble. The site is kept immaculate and the (unisex) facilities are kept spotlessly clean with copious amounts of hot water. There is a freezer (free of charge) for cool blocks, full laundry facilities and a lovely little cafe and shop. Sue makes a mean breakfast bap for those mornings you don't feel like cooking.

    We were invited for drinks (Ian drinks red wine, Sue drinks vodka, so you now know what to bring!), and had a really fab evening. A child friendly site with a slide, goalposts and a basketball hoop, also a large play barn with pool table, television and lots of books. I've been camping for over 40 years and dare I say it, its the best place I have ever stayed.

    We've already booked for November but we will be staying in one of the static vans. In summary, would we return? YES, definitely!

     

  • Had another great two weeks at Mena Park

    Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:

    Had another great two weeks here, this being our third year and now booked in for next year, my family love it here, great location, excellent site and amazing staff and owners whom always make you feel welcome.

    All campsites should visit Mena and see hows its done.
  • You could not ask for a better place to have a Holiday

    Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating: 

    We rang to see if there was a pitch for 6 nights and stayed 9.

    The site is kept to an exceptional standard, well cut grass very clean and tidy everywhere

    The unisex toilet block again very clean, with clothes washing, drying and ironing facilities. 

    The site has a large games /TV room, also a children's play area in the middle of the site. 

    There is a large dog walk, that slopes down to a fishing pond. 

    On site there is a cafe and small shop neither we used. The local village of Lanivet, has a chip shop, Spar Shop and pub. 

    The Beautiful Town of Bodmin only 4 mile away has everything incl super markets and fuel stations. 

    Mena is perfectly situated, close to the Eden centre, Bodmin Moor itself and for Beaches and Towns on the North and South Coasts 

    A wonderful site, great friendly Management and Staff. 

    You could not ask for a better place to have a Holiday.